GAY USA: What now in California? Guest: James Esseks, ACLU - Free Speech TV

Our guest this week is James Esseks, Litigation Director of the ACLU's LGBT Project, who will guide us through the lawsuits challenging Proposition 8 in California and the legal status of the 18,000 same-sex marriages performed in California this year both for those who live in California and those who do not. We will also talk about the wave of protests over Prop 8 in California, Chicago, and Utah, with a big one planned for tonight at 6:30 PM in New York City at the Mormon Temple at W. 65th St. and Amsterdam. There has been an Internet call for demonstrations across the nation versus Prop 8 by going to your local City Hall at 1:30 PM EST (i.e., 12:30 PM Central, 11:30 AM Mountain, and 10:30 AM Pacific time). You can learn more about that at:http://jointheimpact.wetpaint.com/?t=anon We will also analyze what went wrong with the Prop 8 campaign and discuss where we go from here. We will show you Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger's comments on Prop 8 and part of a stirring commentary by Keith Olbermann on MSNBC opposing Prop 8. Here is the complete commentary:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnHyy8gkNEE And we will tell you about the prospects for same-sex marriage in New York with the Democratic takeover of the State Senate as well as rightwing plans to fight same-sex marriage in New York and New Jersey as well as to fight to ban unmarried couples from adopting children in other states as they just did in Arkansas.Gay USA, a weekly news-hour, offers comprehensive news and analysis by and about the LGBTQ community. The program features lively repartee between hosts Ann Northrop and Andy Humm, as well as interviews with special guests. Produced at Manhattan Neighborhood Network, Gay USA airs several times a week on Free Speech TV. Each week’s complete episode is streamed on www.freespeech.org and is available as an RSS feed.

Get updates about the policies and topics that matter the most to you. Progressive news directly to your email.